Shojin Ryori

Shojin ryori (Buddhist cuisine) has been handed down through the generations along with the long history of Koyasan.

Shojin ryori is based on cooking methods that continue to this day: Goho (raw, boiled, baked, fried, and steamed); Gomi (soy sauce, vinegar, salt, sugar, and spicy hot); and Goshoku (red, blue, black, yellow, and white). At the lodging, we offer “furimai ryori,” a banquet food served after the monks’ ceremonies.

No meat, fish, or other fish or raw meat odors are used, so it can also be enjoyed by vegetarians and vegans.

Basic policy for customers with food allergies

Breakfast and dinner will be served in your room, while guests of four or more will be served in a separate room.
Please enjoy your meal at your own pace.


We also accept lunch reservations.
When you visit Koyasan, stop by to enjoy shojin ryori in a quiet room inside the temple.

Lunch is only available by reservation. Please call us to reserve by 3 pm the day before.
(Lunch time is 11 am to 1 pm)

Basic policy for customers with food allergies

In order to enjoy our meals safely at our temple, we have a basic policy for food allergies as follows. Please kindly have a read.

Basically, the meals we serve to the guests are Syoujin-Ryouri (Buddhist vegetarian cuisine), excluding any meat, fish, eggs, dairy, onion and garlic for dinner and breakfast.
Contents may be changed depending on the season.

Regarding the food allergies

We will only accommodate allergic meals for those who actually have allergies.
We apologize for the inconvenience, but if you do not have an allergy (such as a food preference), we will not be able to accommodate your request, so please feel free to leave it in with your meal.

About soy allergy

Seasonings such as soy sauce and miso also contain soybeans. At our temple, we use these seasonings in most of our dishes. Please note that if you have a soy allergy, your diet will be quite simple.

About wheat allergy

If you have a wheat allergy or a chronic illness such as celiac disease, please let us know so we can accommodate you with a gluten-free menu.

Regarding seasonings and severe allergies

If you have any seasonings (soy sauce, sugar, salt, etc.) or severe allergies, we may not be able to accommodate you, so please let us know as soon as possible.
Also, our facility only has one kitchen, so it is not possible to allocate a separate cooking area for allergy accommodations. Therefore, we recommend that individuals with severe allergies consider bringing their own meals.

If you have a food allergy, please contact us at least one week in advance, as we may need to purchase and prepare ingredients.
Please note that if you contact us after that time, we may not be able to accommodate.